July 25, 2018  /  The Shakes

Location: California, US

FFO: Tame Impala, Beach Weather

Label: Unsigned

Hailing from Orange County, California, The Shakes are an independent ambient pop collective led by frontman and songwriter Sean Perry.

Citing influence from a wide range of genres, from The Who and Oasis to Tame Impala, ‘With Every Moment’ is the title-track from their upcoming EP, a collection of tracks that expresses the band’s unique take on contemporary indie, blending elements of brit-pop’s classic singer-songwriter sensibilities with the down-tempo ambience of psych-rock.

There’s a dreamy, detached feeling to the track that perhaps stems from the Sean Perry’s harrowing near-death experience, cited as the main influence for the EP:

“A little over a year ago, I was involved in a near death experience,” explains Sean. “Coming home from a friends house at 1 in the morning, a driver cut me off going through a yellow light. I immediately slammed on my breaks and I watched the car sail through the yellow light… In the middle of the intersection, another car came and t-boned him, causing the car to flip over multiple times. It was one of the loudest sounds I have ever heard… Police cars, fire trucks, ambulance… filled the intersection minutes later.

I was in shock, my hands couldn’t let go of the steering wheel, slowly opening the door, I made my way out to the middle of the intersection. Staring into the chaos of what had just happened. The police asked me questions about the crash, I told them everything I could… then got back in my car and drove home.”